NYA 2012 Reflections: Fraser

Fraser Ellis from Gorbals Parish Church, Glasgow, shares some of his NYA experience…

Another year, another NYA. Last year was my first year at the NYA and I never knew how much it would change my view on the church until now. Getting involved with the NYA happened when I heard about from two fellow younger members of my Church who were involved with the Church and the NYA in some form. So if it wasn’t for them I wouldn’t have been back.

This year it was great that I knew what to do so everything was second nature, especially singing African songs as my church loves that (even though the majority of which are over the age of 55). I never thought that Mungu ni mwema would be replaced but thanks to Bambelala/Never Give Up I have something I could teach my church on a Sunday. The workshops were great too although I really wanted to go to all of them but there wasn’t enough time so I went for the easy options, EQUIP on Saturday and Something Sporty on Sunday. I saw a rugby ball when we met for the Something Sporty and thought brilliant but it turned out to be Italian Volleyball and Rounders. However like any good sports person I had a visit to our world-class comedic first aid team when I managed to scrape my elbow just before lunchtime. But other than that the weekend was fab.

Now I can’t wait for next year just to see if I’m still as clumsy.

~ by Lynsey on August 19, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
