GA 2011 – Saturday

My name is Euan Patterson and I am the youth delegate for Greenock and Paisley Presbytery. This is my third time attending the General Assembly and as such I feel that I have become well accustomed to the proceedings; that said, I must confess to having never spoken at the GA, primarily due to a lack of personal preparation rather than an absence of the desire to do so.

This year I have decide to put old habits to rest and intend to ask a question of the Church and Society Council on Tuesday – potentially followed by a motion, depending on the answer to that question.

One of the most contentious topics we have thus far discussed as youth reps is the question of whether or not we should hold an indicative vote on Assembly matter. I, personally, am a strong supporter of youth reps receiving the vote, but only with the arrangement of a more stringent selection process by presbyteries.

In terms of the social aspect of being a youth rep, I have had a wonderful time thus far, laughing with friends old and new. Youth representation (in any capacity) is an incredibly enjoyable and educational part of the life of the Kirk and I would commend it to anyone who may be considering taking up the role.

~ by iainmclarty on May 22, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
